The Grand Council of the Crees

About the GCC/ CRA

The GCC represents approximately 14000 Crees

The Grand Council of the Crees (GCC)

The Grand Council of the Crees is the political body that represents the approximately (2003) 14,000 Crees or “Eeyouch” (“Eenouch” – Mistissini dialect), as they call themselves, of eastern James Bay and Southern Hudson Bay in Northern Quebec. The Grand Council has twenty members: a Grand Chief and Deputy-Grand Chief elected at large by the Eeyouch, the chiefs elected by each of the nine Cree communities, and one other representative from each community. The present Grand Chief is Mathew Coon Come and the Deputy Grand Chief is Ashley Iserhoff. The Council’s head office is in the Cree community of Nemaska, although it also has offices in Montreal and Ottawa.

Read More

The GCC represents approximately 14000 CreesThe Cree Regional Authority (CRA)

The CRA is the administrative arm of the Cree government. It has responsibilities in respect to environmental protection, the hunting, fishing and trapping regime (Section 22), economic and community development, the Board of Compensation, and other matters as decided by the board of directors. The Board of Directors is made up of the Chairman of the CRA, who is also the Grand Chief, Mathew Coon Come, and the Vice-Chairman Ashley Iserhoff, as well as the Chiefs of each of the nine Cree Communities, and one other person from each community delegated by the community.

The Headquarters of the CRA is located in Nemaska, James Bay, Quebec. In addition, there is also an office located at 277 Duke Street in Montréal.

Read More